Middle School Sports

All student athletes must have current physicals on file to participate in sports. Sports physicals can be scheduled at the RAHS clinic. Contact RAHS at 734-221-2271 for more info.

 

Grizzlies Middle School Fall Sports Information and Schedules

Middle School Sports are open to 7th and 8th Grade Y.C.M.S. and W.I.M.A. Students. Currently we are fielding one combined team for each sport. If there are sufficient numbers we will sponsor a 7th and 8th grade team for the sport of choice. All 6th Graders are able to participate on teams in practices; 6rth Grade students may participate in games or meets if there are not enough players to fill the teams with 7th and 8th Graders. 

In order to begin any practice activity and participate in any Y.C.S. Middle School Sports; Team, student athletes must have a current sports physical that was completed on or after April 15  2021. Students must also have passed at least half of the 2020-21 2nd semester classes. The first official day of practice for all Middle School Sports is Monday 8/23/21. Voluntary Pre-Season Skills and Conditioning may occur prior to the first official day of practice. Voluntary Pre-Season activities can be confirmed by contacting the coach of the sport. Information about all fall sports offered and Coaches contact information is below.

For more information on YCS Athletics, please visit the YCS Athletics page or  Ypsi Grizzlies Athletics page.

 

 

 

Practice

Begins 8/23/21

Monday-Friday  4:30pm-6:00pm

Takes place at Ypsilanti Community Middle School Field, located at 510 Emerick.

2021 Game Schedule

Start Times:  5:00 PM

Tuesday 9/21/21 @ Chelsea

Tuesday 9/28/21 vs. Saline

Tuesday 10/5/21 @ Adrian

Tuesday 10/12/21 vs. Jackson

Tuesday 10/19/21 vs. Dexter

Tuesday 10/26/21 @ Tecumseh

 

Middle School Football Bus Schedule

Tuesday 9/21/21 @ Chelsea Beach MS Address: 445 Mayer Dr, Chelsea, MI 48118 - Depart 2:30 PM PM - Return 5:45 PM

Tuesday 10/5/21 @ Adrian Springbrook MS Address: 615 Springbrook Adrian MI 49221 - Depart 2:15 PM -Return 5:45 PM

Tuesday 10/26/21 @ Tecumseh MS 307 N. Maumee Tecumseh MI 49286 - Depart 2:30 PM - Return 5:45 PM

Home games take place at Shadford Field, located at 2095 Packard Rd
 

 

For more information or questions, please contact Coach Marvin Jones at 734-787-3075 or blackrhinoimpllc@gmail.com.

 

 

 

 

Practice

Begins 8/23/21

Monday -Friday 4:30-6:00 at Ypsilanti Community Middle School Gym

2021 Game Schedule

Start Times:  4:15 PM 

 

Monday 9/20/21 at Saline

Wednesday 9/22/21 vs. Lincoln

Monday 9/27/21 at Pinckney

Wednesday 9/29/21 vs. Bedford

Monday 10/4/21 at Saline

Wednesday 10/6/21 vs. Dexter

Saturday 10/9/21 8th Grade Invite @ Dexter 9:00 AM

Monday 10/11/21 @ Chelsea

Wednesday 10/13/21 vs. Tecumseh

Monday 10/18/21 vs. Monroe

Wednesday 10/20/21 @ Adrian

Monday 10/25/21 vs. Dexter

 

Middle School Volleyball Bus/Van Schedule

Monday 9/20/21 at Saline MS Address: 7190 N. Maple Rd. Saline MI 48170 - Depart 2:30 PM - Return 5:45 PM

Monday 9/27/21 at Pinckney Pathfinder MS Address: 2100 E.M-36 - Depart 2:30 PM - Return 5:45 PM

Monday 10/4/21 Saline MS Address: 7190 N. Maple Rd. Saline MI 48170 - Depart 2:30 PM - Return 5:45 PM

Saturday 10/9/21 @ Dexter Mill Creek MS - 7305 Dexter Ann Arbor Rd Dexter MI 48130 - Depart 7:30 AM - Return 12:00 PM

Monday 10/11/21 @ Chelsea Address: 500 Washington St. Chelsea Mi 49118 - Depart 2:30 PM - Return 5:45 PM

Wednesday 10/20/21 @ Adrian Springbrook MS Address: 6156 Springbrook - Depart 2:15 PM - Return 5:45 PM

 

For more information or questions, please contact Coach Ware at 313-687-7251 or rayshawn2121@gmail.com

 

For more information or questions, please contact the coaches

7th Grade - Courtney Smith - csmith2311@yahoo.com - 734-646-5285

8th Grade - Bryant Brown  - bbrown49442@hotmail.com - 734-657-0989

 

7th and 8th Grade Boys Basketball Tryouts - Wednesday October 27th, Thursday October 28th and Friday October 29th - 2:45 - 5:00 PM @ Y.C.M.S. Gym (510 Emerick Ypsilanti). WIMA Students are encouraged to come immediately after school to Y.C.M.S. to join tryouts in progress.

Location 

Ypsilanti Community Middle School Gym - 510 Emerick Ypsilanti

Bring

Athletic Clothing, t shirt/jersey/shorts/basketball shoes/water

Physicals

In order to participate in Winter Sports for the Ypsilanti Community Grizzlies, student athletes must have a current sports physical that was completed on or after April 15, 2021. Physicals can be done by a family doctor or free of charge to all students at the University of Michigan Regional Alliance for Healthy Students Clinic or R.A.H.S. Clinic. There are two University of Michigan R.A.H.S. Clinics located at Ypsilanti Community High School and Ypsilanti Community Middle School. To make an appointment at the R.A.H.S. Clinics call the numbers below for an appointment.

Y.C.M.S. R.A.H.S. - 734-221- 2271    -   Y.C.H.S. R.A.H.S. - 734-221-1007

 

PRACTICE SCHEDULE

TBA

GAME SCHEDULE

Start Times:   7th Grade: 4:15pm
                      8th Grade: 5:30pm

Thursday 11/11/21 vs. Tecumseh

Tuesday 11/16/21 @ Chelsea

Thursday 11/17.21 @ Dexter

Saturday 11/20/21 7th Grade Round Robin @ Lincoln vs. Lincoln

Saturday 11/20/21 8th Grade Round Robin vs. Lincoln and Pinckney

Tuesday 11/23/21 vs. Pinckney

Monday 11/29/21 @ Bedford

Wednesday 12/1/21 vs. Saline

Saturday 12/4/21 7th Grade Round Robin @ Pinckney

Saturday 12/4/21 8th Grade Round Robin @ Chelsea

Monday 12/6/21 @ Lincoln

Wednesday 12/8/21 vs Dexter

Monday 12/13/21 @ Chelsea

Wednesday 12/15/21 vs. Jackson

 

 

Cross Country

Practice

Begins 8/23/21

Mon- Fri - 4:30 PM - 6:00 PM

Takes place at Y.C.H.S. Track - 2095 Packard Rd 

2021 Meet Schedule

Start time: 4:15 PM

 

Wednesday 9/21/21 @ Rolling Hills - Ypsilanti

Wednesday 10/6/11/21 @ Hudson Mills - Dexter

Wednesday 10/20/21 @ Munson Park - Monroe

 

Middle School Cross Country Van Schedule

Wednesday 9/22/21 @ Rolling Hills Address: 7660 Stony Creek Rd, Ypsilanti, MI 48197  - Depart 2:30 Pm - Return 6:00 PM

Wednesday 10/6/11/21 @ Hudson Mills Address: 8801 Territorial Rd. Dexter MI 48130 Depart 2:30 PM - Return 6:30 PM
Wednesday 10/20/21 @ Munson Park Address: 2770 N Custer Rd, Monroe, MI 48162 - Depart 2;15 m - Return 6:30 PM

For more information, please contact Coach Luke Brown at 989-619-1408 or lbrown4@ycschools.us.